workernoob.blogg.se

Suse create boot partition
Suse create boot partition













suse create boot partition
  1. #Suse create boot partition how to
  2. #Suse create boot partition install
  3. #Suse create boot partition 64 Bit
  4. #Suse create boot partition iso

The path to that system kernel saved to a UEFI environment variable (commonly Boot0000-).A UEFI-compatible system kernel located on that partition (such as the linux kernel).A FAT-formatted GPT partition of type ef00.

#Suse create boot partition install

What's more - it is probably the grub install that broke everything in the first place. grub is just a boot- manager in that context - and almost definitely entirely redundant. It isn't even a boot- loader anymore on EFI systems the bootloader is built-in to the firmware.

  • Unsure whether/how to answer my own questionįorget grub entirely - it is nothing but a distraction.
  • Basically rewrote all my efi to brand new.
  • Used directions to do syslinux (from within Arch Install Guide).
  • Ran Arch Live, went through install (zapping and initial creation of partitions worked better than on parted/gparted).
  • Kept Ubuntu LiveUSB session up, went through partial install (up to chroot of Arch while in live session).
  • iso, and dd'd onto 2nd USB partition (LiveUSB)
  • Tried to use gfdisk, made me reboot lost session.
  • This booted, but needed my USB to be in place so was useless.
  • Used dd to write LiveUSB to /dev/sda4 (believe this was number).
  • Wiped partitions/Made partition for LiveUSB onto Harddrive.
  • Partitions looked funny, (missing space).
  • suse create boot partition

  • Tried Install again (didn't work same error).
  • Used parted/gparted to wipe all then make GPT and other partitions(set boot flag on ESP).
  • Tried to do install of Ubuntu, didn't work problem with grub and EFI on my GPT partition.
  • Wiped /dev/sda except the fat partition (GPT/ESP).
  • Steps taken recently (after following answers): I tried the answers posted below, currently, good research, and in most cases I believe they would work. When I run modprobe there is nothing with efivars. Note with efibootmgr: Fatal: Couldn't open either sysfs or procfs directories for accessing EFI variables. How do I start to fix this? And what information do people need? My /dev/sda1 (fat32, with boot flag) has an EFI directory on it for Ubuntu (assuming Ubuntu was loading GRUB> chainloading Debian). I called Asus tech support, they wanted to re-image. My computer came with Ubuntu installed, ASUS XC200 (netbook).

    #Suse create boot partition how to

    I am unsure exactly how to restore my system. However I need this USB to boot into a distribution. I have a work-around currently, which is odd in how it works, I use a liveboot USB (Yumi) and choose to run Linux from hard drive, and I can choose between the distros I have on my computer. The EFI menu doesn't even show my hard drive as a boot option (although it detects it in hardware). When I installed Fedora from a liveCD I got excited and kept hitting next, not realizing I was not installing GPT, but rather LVM.Īfter doing this I cannot boot from a hard disk. The USB device can then be booted from.I am triple booting Ubuntu, Debian, and Fedora. mnt/boot/x86_64/mkbootdisk -64 -partition /dev/sdb1 /mnt mnt/boot/i386/mkbootdisk -32 -partition /dev/sdb1 /mnt Mount -o loop SLES-10-i386-GM-CD1.iso /mnt (/dev/sdb1 must be a primary partition no more than 4GB in size) This example will use /dev/sdb as the USB device.Ĭreate a FAT16 partition on the USB device:

    suse create boot partition

  • Open a command prompt and change to C:\syslinux\syslinux\win32Ĭreating a bootable USB device from Linux.
  • Download syslinux and extract it to C:\syslinux (Note: this must be downloaded separately from the Internet).
  • Rename E:\isolinux.cfg to E:\syslinux.cfg.
  • #Suse create boot partition 64 Bit

    Note: replace i386 with x86_64 if it is 64 bit

  • Assuming the USB device is E: copy the contents of C:\isotemp\boot\i386\loader\* to E:\.
  • #Suse create boot partition iso

    iso file to a temporary directory like C:\isotemp (A utility such as WinRAR can be used for this) The proceedure can then be completed in either Windows or Linux.Ĭreating a bootable USB device from Windows It is first necessary to download CD1 or a mini.iso of SLES 10. Please note that this process only works for SLES10 as there have been changes made to the syslinux package that make this process obsolete in later versions of SLES.















    Suse create boot partition